Educate yourself!


But..

“According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, feminism is “the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities.” That’s it. That’s all it is.

I think I do have quite some sense in equality and justice.
If that is all that feminism is about, then why would I need to educate myself?

What does that mean, anyway? Equal rights and equal opportunity, I am all for that, what is there to learn about?
If one is for equal rights and group a is not allowed something group b is, then that is not equal. Gays should therefore be allowed to marry. In our western countries there are no rights being denied to women. Name one law in the states that discriminates women. Or in Germany (here I can name a couple that discriminate males)

Yet, women’s studies strive to find new „facts“ where women are oppressed.
One might argue that gender studies just exist to invent new ways in which women are not equal. And it is now on a level where painted toe tips is a sign of oppression.
Remember the show Sex and the City? Remember how Charlotte complains that this one guy was not circumcised? Imagine the uproar if the genders were changed.
Paint your toes or not. Shave your legs or don’t. I don’t care. But please, don’t think that it is all just women that are affected by expectations. I had to shave my face every-fucking-morning for some jobs. Get on a date and not being freshly shaved? Forget it. My back I have waxed. On my chest I am a rebell. It is up to you. I am sure there are as many guys that have no problems with unshaven legs as there are girls that are fine with a hairy back.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

