Trolling vs Discussing


For a bit now I had a discussion on twitter with some MyFeminism Feminist. I think we were pretty close together when it came to equality. She claimed that she was working hard to promote her kind of feminism. I wished her success. And of course, for her, feminism is a good thing.
I shared the time magazine link for some examples on how modern day feminism in the west is acting.
She claimed that this is not feminism. We then stumbled on campus rape case she said that is not feminism. I quoted some feminist teachers like

“Feminism is built on believing women’s accounts of sexual use and abuse by men.”
– Feminist Professor Catharine MacKinnon
or “They [victims of false rape accusations] have a lot of pain, but it is not a pain that I would necessarily have spared them. I think it ideally initiates a process of self-exploration. ‘How do I see women?’ ‘If I didn’t violate her, could I have?’ ‘Do I have the potential to do to her what they say I did?’ Those are good questions.”
– Dr. Catherine Comins

Then we touched equality and feminism again, and I voiced my opinion that it will be hard to change feminism to an equalism movement as too much of the feminist theory is already set in stone.
AAAAAAND i got the advice to read more on feminist theory. And got blocked and named a troll.
Was I trolling? Was I just discussing to put oil in the fire? No. I believe in the power of arguments. I may be right, I may be wrong, but someone just telling me that I am wrong will never convince me. Noone can tell me how i perceive the effects of feminism these days. One can show me good stuff feminism in the western world has achieved in the last ten years, I could give some examples what it has changed for the worse. At the end I might be convinced that our western society was better of because of feminism. Or not.

Ein Gedanke zu „Trolling vs Discussing

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar